PEOPLE

Siiri Silm

Associate Professor in Human Geography, PhD
Head of the Research Group

Research interests: mobile positioning, human mobility, ethnic segregation and inequality, social networks, transnationalism, tourism, urban studies, spatial planning, smart cities.

siiri.silm@ut.ee

Frank Witlox

Visiting Professor of Economic Geography from Ghent University, PhD
International Head of the Research Group

Research interests: travel behavior analysis, behavioral change, urban mobility, active travel, land use, locational decision-making

frank.witlox@ut.ee

Anto Aasa

Associate Professor in Human Geography, PhD

Research interests: analysis, GIS, maps, spatial statistics, mobile positioning, climate impacts, phenology

anto.aasa@ut.ee

Age Poom

Associate Professor in Urban Environment, PhD

Research interests: human-environmental interactions, mobility and activity space, environmental exposure, urban greenery, street quality, household consumption, sustainability science

age.poom@ut.ee

Janika Raun

Research Fellow in Tourism Geography, PhD

Research interests: tourism geography, tracking technologies, temporary mobility, second home research

janika.raun@ut.ee

Veronika Mooses

Research Fellow of Human Geography, PhD

Research interests: ethnic differences in people’s spatio-temporal behaviour

veronika.mooses@ut.ee

Anniki Puura

Specialist in Geography, PhD

Research interests: social networks and travel behaviour

anniki.puura@ut.ee

Karl Saidla

Research Fellow in Sustainable Transportation, PhD

Research interests: sustainable transportation

karl.erik.thurber.saidla@ut.ee

Ago Tominga

PhD Candidate

Research interests: urban geography, sustainable mobility, human-environmental interactions, environmental exposure, travel environments, activity spaces

ago.tominga@ut.ee

Daiga Paršova

PhD Candidate

Research interests: daily mobility, environmental exposure

daiga.parsova@ut.ee

Laura Altin

PhD Candidate

Research interests: tourism geography, destination marketing

laura.altin@ut.ee

Arvi Kiik

System Administrator, MSc

arvi.kiik@ut.ee

Mirjam Veiler

Assistant of Human Geography, MSc

mirjam.veiler@ut.ee

Previous members

Rein Ahas

(10.12.1966 – 18.02.2018)

Professor of Human Geography, PhD

Founder of the research group

Olle Järv

Academy Research Fellow, Digital Geography Lab, University of Helsinki

Mari Nuga

Senior research assistant, Umeå University

Jakub Novak

Andres Kuusik

Professor of Marketing, University of Tartu

Hando Hain

Margus Tiru

Erki Saluveer

Pilleriine Kamenjuk

Junior Quality Assurance Engineer, Raintree Estonia OÜ

Kerli Müürisepp

Doctoral Researcher, Digital Geography Lab, University of Helsinki

Mari-Liis Perend (Lamp)

Kristi Post (Sõmer)

Specialist, Department of Geography, University of Tartu

Kristiina Paiste

Visitors

Matthew Zook

University Research Professor of Geography, University of Kentucky

Jukka Krisp

Irma Kveladze

Jan Šimbera

Wenning Zhao

Tsinghua University

Yifan Zhang

Shanghai University